Heart Chronicles- (2) “Surprise! Here’s Baby!”

“We need to talk.” He said.

I hate those words. They’re like needles that stick all the way in your body and won’t come out until the problem is dealt with. Let’s face it, anything attached to those words is always a problem.

“Okay, where do I meet you?”

“Meet me in the Ralphs parking lot. I’ll come to you.”

While driving there the night was dry and the weather was nice as usual. There was no sign of the world ending just yet until he said,

My ex wife says she’s pregnant and it’s mine.”

WHAT?!?!?!??!?!

The blood rushed out of my face but I held my composure with a slow nod. There was nothing to say. There were no questions. There were no answers that could release that feeling that sat in my throat. My chest was caving in but I still just sat there with a slow nod.

We had been a thing for four years. I had wanted so much more from him and a baby was included in that “want list”. Instead, here was the news that after we broke up because he wouldn’t give it to me, he gave it to someone else.

“Do you have any questions for me?” He asked.

My head now went from a “nod” to a “no”.

Do you want me to leave?” He asked.

My head now went from a “no” to a “yes”.

He left the car.

On the ride home I had a panic attack.

After the relationship he still remains a great friend but that damn baby is a reminder of why men like this tend to put themselves first in almost every single situation.

-HEART CHRONICLES (2)

Chriss

* heart chronicles are stories told my women from a moment in time during a relationship with another person. These stories are used to raise awareness or simply add entertainment or soothe curiosity. Either way, they have all happened in real life. 

 

Leave a Reply

